SEARAC Condemns Trump Administration’s Expansion of Muslim Ban

Washington, DC – Last week, the Trump Administration expanded its Muslim ban to include travel restrictions for six additional countries: Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania. This announcement follows the three-year anniversary of the White House’s original Muslim ban, and will primarily harm immigrants from Muslim-majority nations, black immigrants, and communities of color.

“The expansion of the Trump Administration’s discriminatory travel ban is an affront to America’s bedrock values of democracy and justice. This is not the America that welcomed over one million Southeast Asian refugees 45 years ago,” said Quyen Dinh, executive director of SEARAC. “We stand in solidarity with our black, Muslim, and Asian brothers and sisters who now face prolonged family separation, including refugees fleeing from violence and persecution in their home countries. Congress must pass the NO BAN Act to prevent further biases in our laws and ensure that communities across the country can continue to reunite with their loved ones.”
Elaine Sanchez Wilson
(202) 601-2970